Facebook Icon   Linkedin Icon   Twitter Icon   YouTube Icon

Sensitive Security Information, Certified®

About the SSI Certification Program

Every day our homeland is under attack by those who would misuse sensitive security information (SSI) in a harmful way. For centuries, spies and traitors have inflicted great damage by exploiting sensitive documents. One lesson history teaches is that espionage flourishes when authorities fail to protect sensitive information.

Now more than ever we need homeland security professionals able to actualize and implement concrete strategies to keep sensitive security information safe. The American Board for Certification in Homeland Security, CHS® proudly sponsors the Sensitive Security Information, Certified (SSI) certification program for just this purpose.

Designed by experts in SSI, this certification program is intended for professionals who are currently, or will be, in a position that involves handling sensitive security information. The SSI certification program recognizes those who hold current certification knowledge and abilities in the following areas: good information practices, the psychology of spies, methods to detect potential betrayal, methods for handling sensitive information, the establishment of security plans for sensitive information, and monitoring techniques such as the use of closed-circuit video cameras.

Eligibility Requirements
  • Agreement to uphold the ABCHS Code of Conduct
  • No felony convictions
  • No dishonorable discharge from the U.S. military (for U.S. veterans only)
  • Neither a record of disciplinary action from any state, province or territory, or licensing or certification board within the past 10 years nor a subject under any such investigation
  • Two years of experience in the field of information security assurance recommended
SSI Certification Program Requirements

The assessment component of the SSI program is a certification exam that covers critical aspects of SSI. To maintain SSI certification, those with SSI designation are required to obtain 30 Continuing Education Units (CEU) per three-year recertification cycle.

College Credits

ABCHS is currently pursuing accreditation from the American Council on Education to provide its members college credit at over 2,000 colleges and universities. One criteria to meet this requirement is that the certification exam must be taken in a proctored setting. If a member would like their exam to be considered for college credit once the accreditation process is completed they must use Remote Proctor Now online proctoring ststem. To learn more about this remote proctoring option click here.

Military Personnel: Pearson VUE offers professional ABCHS certification exams to U.S. military service members on-site at military installation testing centers worldwide.

Due to the accreditation process, testing for SSI has to be conducted at a Pearson Vue testing center. Please contact member services at (877)219-2519 for a test voucher. Thank you.

Pearson Vue

Apply Now!


Sensitive Security Information Cover
*Recommended Reading:

icons fonts

Copyright © 2017 American Board for Certification in Homeland Security, CHS®. All Rights Reserved.
2750 East Sunshine St. Springfield, MO 65804   -  1 (877) 219-2519