Facebook Icon   Linkedin Icon   Twitter Icon   YouTube Icon

The Intelligence Analyst Certified, IAC®

About the IAC Certification Program

Intelligence information can be an extremely powerful tool to aid in protecting America. The government uses intelligence to improve and understand the consequences of its national security decisions. Intelligence assists policy decisions, military actions, international negotiations, and interactions with working-level contacts in foreign countries. In some circumstances, it can even aid homeland security providers and first responders.

Intelligence analysts have the task of making sense of world events and legislative developments, identifying potential threats to national security, and providing needed information and analysis to policy makers. They also uncover secrets about potential threats and assess foreign military capabilities. Besides using traditional sources of classified information they must also extract potentially critical knowledge from large quantities of information.

The Intelligence Analyst Certified, IAC® certification program is sponsored by the American Board for Certification in Homeland Security, co-sponsored by the American Board of Intelligence Analysts (ABIA). ABIA promotes excellence in the study, examination, and assessment of threats, risks, and adversaries in all intelligence sectors. The IAC program is designed to recognize essential intelligence analysis skill sets in those with current IAC certification. These skill sets include performing analysis, interpreting analysis, planning and organizing, conducting research, tapping sources of intelligence, working with technology, and communicating and writing.

The IAC is a 2-part exam.

Eligibility Requirements
  • Agreement to uphold the ABCHS Code of Conduct
  • Willingness to pass a criminal background check, a current security clearance, previously held security clearance not revoked for derogatory reason, or Infraguard Membership.
  • No felony convictions
  • No dishonorable discharge from the military
  • Neither a record of disciplinary action from any state, province or territory, or licensing or certification board within the past 10 years nor subject under any such investigation
  • Recommended one year of specialized experience in one of the following fields:
    • Experience interpreting or analyzing vague to complex information to discern patterns, trends, and relationships and to draw conclusions by applying rules that involved multiple steps.
    • Experience interpreting or analyzing moderately complex information received from a variety of sources to make inferences or draw conclusions by applying rules that involve a number of sources or cross-referenced data.
    • Experience interpreting or analyzing straightforward intelligence information to arrive at answers to problems by applying rules that involve only one or two steps.
    • Experience as a research specialists and/or intelligence analyst, operations specialist, or investigator and recognition as a specialist, expert, or technician with responsibility for complex, difficult, or most strategic assignments in a functional area of responsibility.
IAC Certification Program Requirements

The assessment component of the IAC program is a certification exam that follows this outline:

Content Areas (Domains) Percentage of Exam
Performing analysis 21%
Interpreting analysis 20%
Planning and organizing 6%
Conducting research 10%
Sources of intelligence 16%
Working with technology 14%
Communicating and writing 13%

To maintain IAC certification, those with IAC designation are required to obtain 30 Continuing Education Units (CEs) per 3-year recertification cycle.

Start the process to earn recognition for your unique skill set in intelligence analysis by applying today!

icons fonts

Copyright © 2017 American Board for Certification in Homeland Security, CHS®. All Rights Reserved.
2750 East Sunshine St. Springfield, MO 65804   -  1 (877) 219-2519