Facebook Icon   Linkedin Icon   Twitter Icon   YouTube Icon

Certified in Homeland Security, CHS® Level IV

Who needs this credential?

A CHS-IV credential holder will have basic knowledge of FEMA’s incident command system, National Incident Management System, and National Response Framework. This certification focuses on validating knowledge of candidates specific to the Response and Recovery aspect of homeland security. Other aspects of homeland security include Prevention, Preparedness, Mitigation, Education, and advanced topics like weapons of mass destruction, which is specifically assigned to the highest certification, CHS-V. The target population is homeland security officials that hold responsibility in responding to disasters and terrorist attacks. This credential is vital for homeland security officials to provide mid-level homeland security managers in emergency management and public safety & security with base knowledge in how to minimize the damage caused by terrorist attacks. This delineation of aspects of homeland security was used to drive the differentiation discussions of the three levels that was the foundation for establishing the minimally competent candidate definitions as part of the standard setting process.

General Eligibility Requirements

The following general eligibility requirements must be met by all American Board for Certification in Homeland Security (ABCHS) applicants:

  • No felony convictions
  • No dishonorable discharge from the military
  • Neither a record of disciplinary action from any state, province or territory, or licensing or certification board within the past 10 years nor subject under any such investigation
  • Agreement to uphold the ABCHS Code of Conduct
  • Hold the CHS-III credential; or four (4) years of experience combined with general training, knowledge, skill, and education in a homeland security-related area connected to the topics examined n CHS-I, CHS-II, CHS-III, CHS-IV, and CHS-V
CHS-IV Recertification Program Requirements

The assessment component of CHS-IV is a certification exam that covers critical aspects of homeland security. To maintain the CHS-IV certification, those with CHS-IV designations are required to obtain 30 Continuing Education Units (CEU) per three-year recertification cycle. This is waived if the CHS-IV holder obtains the CHS-V credential within that 3 year period.

Recommended Study Material

Applicants are encouraged to complete all three courses listed below, offered by FEMA free of charge, before attempting to take the CHS Level IV exam.

FEMA IS-100.B - Introduction to Incident Command System

FEMA IS-700.A - NIMS An Introduction

FEMA IS-800.B - NRF An Introduction

Copyright © 2015 American Board for Certification in Homeland Security, CHS®. All Rights Reserved.
2750 East Sunshine St. Springfield, MO 65804   -  1 (877) 219-2519