Facebook Icon   Linkedin Icon   Twitter Icon   YouTube Icon

Certified in Homeland Security, CHS® Level I

General Eligibility Requirements

The following general eligibility requirements must be met by all ABCHS applicants:


  • Recommended one year experience in homeland security
  • No felony convictions
  • No dishonorable discharge from the military
  • Neither a record of disciplinary action from any state, province or territory, or licensing or certification board within the past 10 years nor subject under any such investigation
  • Agreement to uphold the ABCHS Code of Conduct
CHS-I Recertification Program Requirements

The assessment component of the CHS-I is a certification exam that covers critical aspects of homeland security. To maintain CHS-I certification, those with CHS-I designations are required to obtain 30 Continuing Education Units (CEU) per three-year recertification cycle. This is waived if the CHS-I holder obtains the CHS-II credential within that 3 year period.

Exam Proctor

CHS-I is proctored through Pearson Vue and is available to all candidates across the United States.

Military Personnel: Pearson VUE offers professional ABCHS certification exams to U.S. military service members on-site at military installation testing centers worldwide.

Copyright © 2016 American Board for Certification in Homeland Security, CHS®. All Rights Reserved.
2750 East Sunshine St. Springfield, MO 65804   -  1 (877) 219-2519